March

 

“It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.”
-

Charles Dickens

With the arrival of March finally, things are beginning to move well in terms of Bonsai repotting. All that I did over the last ten days despite being in protective quarters, have decided that as temperatures have dwindled down again – and the prospect is back to some random minus conditions at night, they have gone back to sleep again.

My Larch was working hard to produce new growth and kept winking at me to look at the buds every time I walked past. Which, this past week seems to be ten times a day. Alas, it too has decided taking another nap which frankly seems prudent now that it has turned cold yet again.

A Deshojo in winter protection is on the move and I realise ‘yikes’ have I a new pot? Currently in Mica I cannot justify putting it back in one. Sadly my local Bonsai nursery shut due to retirement and all I can hope for now is the Best of British Bonsai in Birmingham later next month for a purchase or three of pots.

I was just beginning to get used to twelve – fourteen degrees c, and then in one foul swoop the weather decided I was having far too much fun. Oh well, it is time to carry on with my species care guides, and see about the ‘other’ hundred and fifty pages I have planned. Retirement and cold just do no not go hand-in-hand …. brrrr.

 

5 thoughts on “March

Comments are closed.