Before and After

The Siberian Elm has been enjoying a good period of very health growth this May / June. So much so it was time to set aside an afternoon and get snipping. No wires have been used on this tree; the last was a few years ago to simply reposition one branch. Other than that it is a ‘snip n grow.’

Before S:elm

I’d taken this image with a Lumix Compact so apologies for the quality.  So a few hours later , and this will do just fine. The following image is taken with a Canon DSLR.

After S:elm

 

I’ve taken the tree in by around 40mm at the skirt tapering up to around 10-15mm at the crown. I may have one further hard prune this year then no more for 2013.

In 2014 I will radically root prune this Elm and repot to the same Walsall Ceramics pot which in my life will be its resting home … unless an alternative pot crops up that I like; I doubt it though.

7 thoughts on “Before and After

    • Thank you. Yes an odd person has indeed commented it should take on a completely different look. Personally I like it like this, and after all … it is my tree 🙂 It still always in my humble opinion looks at its finest with no leaves on-board.

      MJ

Comments are closed.