New ‘Monkey’ Pole (Display Area)

A boring post about a ‘Monkey Pole.’

I’d decided I needed a new display pole with a base on top, and I had stumbled over some lovely sandstone type slabs at B n Q, so felt instead of a wooden top (hmmm That rings a bell). I cut one in half, beveled the edges to look a tad rustic and figured they would make a rather nice top to a pole that would never decay. being very porous I mixed up a water based matt black and added a little more water to ensure deep penetration. Two coats of exterior walnut silk has given a nice finish that will last years.

I forgot to take a few images of how I did the top slab, so a quickie description then. Cut in half as previously stated  to make the two tops; I’ve made another for a second pole. To secure the slab to the pole I fancied a change instead of a 10cm screw. First a  piece of 4×2 into a square, then found centre of slab and after I drilled through wooden block to mount a screw thread bolt thread shaft in middle. Glued the finished block using Gorilla polyurethane glue which I have found over the years to be 100% weather safe. You can not break the joint, so crucial to find right spot.

Glued and then secured with 250kg clamps overnight. On to the pole then. I was delighted to rope in a Bonsai pal to do the sledgehammer work (phew). First image is in place and roughly where I wanted it. I try my best but truthfully the pain to my arthritic joints would be horrendous … assuming I could lift the darned thing in the first place! Thank you good buddy. Here I have placed it exactly where I want it. Propped up by SH while I stand back to take a look-see.

Pole 1

Please note the slab is NOT on the top of pole, that is a hardwood (Beech) block screwed on to top of pole that the sledge will eventually hit. This stops the top getting knacked before you start. Easy I know to saw off, but this works for me. SHOULD … you prefer to saw off after installation then simply measure down from the level top of pole to the spot where you need the top of pole to end, measure down all around, make a pencil line, join it up then when sawing keep checking you are level.

This is a profiled pole which makes for a nice looking finish when stained.

Pole 2

Pole 3

Simply centre the block on top, counter sink to stop screw bending when struck and you are away. I don’t concrete in as my soil here is soft and grips the pole like sticky stuff to a blanket if you get my drift?

Pole 4

I don’t have a post level; someone borrowed it and I never got it back. Now I forget who borrowed it! Keep checking levels as you go. I use a clamp to hold the level and use eyes also to make certain a level pole works.

Pole 5

Now just a quick peak for upright level.

Pole 6

With the post all finished all that remains is to drill a centre pilot hole at the top of the post, ready to take the slab with previously installed threaded bar.

Pole 7

I use a smaller level to check the horizontal both length and depth. If you really want to be flash screw on the top before installing post, turn upside down (NO not you the post and top) and use a sharp chisel to make the square bloke identical to the post profiles. Alternatively I could just unscrew after making a white mark of the pole and just do it on the workbench … which I might do; or rope in a pal to do it 🙂

Close up.

Pole 9

All finished and dry, here then with a small pot atop and snapped with the compact.

Pole 10

This one is getting a rest as it is easier to use a smaller compact for this.

Pole 12

2 thoughts on “New ‘Monkey’ Pole (Display Area)

  1. This is Great Mike…. Need to get a few in my garden!!! The bench is pretty much full!!
    It’s just a problem mowing the grass around where I was them 😉

    • I know what you mean Bry; my Wife insisted on planting many trees at the bottom of the lawned area and it is like a slalom, then strimming. Fortunately I can no longer do it 🙂

Comments are closed.