Procumbens All Change

Not been around in a while as health issues and moving home (we hope) have taken priority. I have however had a good week or two and thought I would spend a bit of time on all my trees.

I only have eight trees now so really I can now actually enjoy spending time working with them rather than thinking of it as a chore. When I first started on the road to Bonsai and over subsequent years I became what I can only imagine as addicted to having more and more trees.

sure I had nothing like the amount as many do and have done over time mostly because pretty much all my trees were large ones. Some so heavy it took two to move them. Thirty-one years later and I’ve gone much much smaller. Sure not Shohin sized but all manageable by one person and don’t need the wheelbarrow to move them.

I’ll upload a few others, but for now my old cascading Procumbens had gone a bit bushy again so figured I sit and think about a future for it. I repotted three years ago after obtaining a rather nice pot whilst up at the Swindon Winter image Show.

Here it can be seen as a Yeti like Cascade.

Procumbens November 2011

The pot above was a very heavy one from Peter Chan. The great problem with the Procumbens Juniper is the foliage gets pretty heavy and creating a cascade became difficult for me, as I found the weight of the branch required permanent wiring to keep any kind of shape.

Here it can be seen after a fall in high winds with some branches broken. I threw it in this pot which I quickly purchased from the local Garden Centre. To give an idea of size the slab that the pot is sat on is 40cm in diameter.

Juniper March 2010

Again I figured I would leave it and see what happens. It recovered well and I cleaned it out to see once more if a possible cascade without permanent wire was possible. See the first image. Also this one. Cleaned out and removed from pot to go into the PC grey one.

RP2

The root-ball was indeed looking well recovered and so into the PC pot it went. Over time I just didn’t or could not get my head round the tree. I wondered if actually creating something with this one was out of my own skill-set? I’m not to proud to admit at times I’ve wondered if I was capable, and fumbled at times. Oh I thought I’d include the absolute original image of the tree. This was prior to falling and prior to a much needed trim.

DSC00063

Moving on and as I started off saying eventually I had had enough of constant wiring and thus decided enough was enough and into a much smaller more manageable pot. This was the one I spoke about earlier the one I got from Swindon.

Procumbens 2011

And yet I still wasn’t happy! Yes it looked to me a heck of a lot better but balance wise it wasn’t right and I still wondered if it had too many branches. Moving bang up to date from 2011 when I popped it into the pot above, I purchased another pot whilst in Swindon this year at the winter Image Show, and paid the mighty sum of £22.50 for it. Brand new, Chinese, perfect condition and deep enough to get a bit more root growing and also to see how it looks in a more rectangular pot. Incidentally I should say I like the following image very much and it will be my intention to get another rectangular pot but not so deep.

Taken a couple of days ago March 2014 in the new pot. Tree needs an overall tweak bend over to the left by a few mm which i’ll do with the foliage when recovered from the repot.

Thank you if you are still with me and reading; I hope you enjoyed it?

Procumbens 200314

10 thoughts on “Procumbens All Change

  1. Great post Mike, Nice to see the development of this tree over years. First time I saw you putting up the new photo on facebook after removing the cascade branch I thought ‘Oh, what have you done!’. But it is looking better now actually 🙂

    Take care!
    Youri

  2. Procubens . Do they ever mature. Every year I spend hours cleaning off the brown bits. I have 3 of them and they. Take a lot of time just cleaning off the brown bits.
    Help
    Gaffer

    • Absolutely they do. A good soil medium with feeding taking place throughout the growing season. I never cut this species preferring to put thin protective gloves on and pinch out. You’ll also know that back inside the tree where light does not reach unless sufficiently thinned you will indeed get plenty of brown; again, generally avoidable with on-going management. The Procumbens is certainly not a subject that can be left to its own devices.

      I give plenty of seaweed tonic (not feed) throughout the season and this gives me a lovely foliage colour in combination with general watering and liberal doses of sunshine. Again mentioning the sunshine; it will thank you for placing it in full sun and depending on your East & West the tree will need some physical moving by you to ensure a good even soaking by the sunshine.

      With liquid feed I tend to use whatever I have, but do keep going back to ‘ONE’ Bio-stimulant plant food which contains many natural extracts. Hand on heart I thoroughly recommend it. If you can get it in powder form all the better. It goes a long way and you can play around with the strength in said powder form.

      MJ

Comments are closed.