Hinoki Cypress

One of the nicest species I’ve ever worked with is the Hinoki Cypress. I purchased one about fifteen or so years ago and it was virtually identical to the first image below. Clearly it was in a pot and was secured as a bargain basement purchase from a Bonsai nursery. It had come out of its pot and when I bought the thing the root ball was a dry as a chip. This is NOT what you want to find with this species. They will NOT thank you for having dry feet.

Indeed make sure you check they are evenly moist throughout the year. Dry and you’ll get huge amounts of die-back. Anyway, I digress; this image is very similar.

Hinoki Compacta (Green)

You can do so much with the cypress, as the foliage is already halfway there in terms of fanning. one quick tip, DON’T use scissors to cut unless you remove from source then by all means use scissors. For keeping foliage tidy and how you might like to see it use your fingers. Hold the cloud in-between finger and thumb and just gently pinch with fingers of the other hand. Not using your nails.

Initially I styled the tree as can be seen by an image I took a few years ago. I’ll be honest, I was disappointed with myself really. It just didn’t work and for whatever reason I just had a mental or creative block for years. I just kept it tidy, not a lot else.

Hinoki 2012 October

Totally top heavy as can be seen but nothing was coming and thus I excused myself by saying I was too busy with work and then catching up at the weekends with chores. No excuse I know but hey-ho there ya go.

Moving on to 2014 I thought long and hard if I should lop the top off and think about a completely different style. As it happens I decided against a ‘chop-job’ and just spent some time seeing if I could get a tree that looked like a real tall grand tree in the wild. I’m initially pleased and the following image as is. i’ve done more, but I need to take another image. still struggling with the Canon 6D but that is another story.

Hinoki 2014 March

3 thoughts on “Hinoki Cypress

  1. Great looking tree I really like Hinoki’s too. A nice tree a some great work
    On the looks of the tree

Comments are closed.